Monday, November 4, 2013

Nov 5 - Melbourne Cup

Tuesday, November 5
(U.S. Monday, 11:00 p.m. ET)

Gai Waterhouse wins her first Melbourne Cup, and tragedy struck the Aga Khan's prized mare, Verema, who was euthanized on the track when she broke down. My favorite, Simenon, got 4th, not bad in a 24-horse field that included so many Group 1 winners. Dandino was 5th.

Official finishing order and betting
Full race coverage, result, finish - click here

Melbourne is 16 hours ahead of New York.  The race takes place 3 pm Melbourne time.  which will be 11:00 p.m. Monday evening, ET.  Ten races, first race at 6:20 p.m. ET, Monday in U.S.

Flemington Racecourse - Melbourne
The Melbourne Cup is widely regarded as Australia’s major thoroughbred horse race. Held annually on the first Tuesday of November, the Melbourne Cup attracts some of the best horses in the world, all vying for a chance to claim some of the $6 million prize money that is offered each year. Known as ‘the race that stops a nation’, the Melbourne Cup is run over a distance of 3,200 metres and is the richest and most prestigious ‘two-mile’ handicap in the world. It is also one of the richest turf races worldwide and is the feature race of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. Held at Melbourne’s famed Flemington Racecourse, which is under the operation of the Victorian Racing Club, the cup is a handicap race open to all horses aged three-years-old and above.

The first ever horse to win the Melbourne Cup was named Archer. Archer also won the second running of the Melbourne Cup and was favourite to win the third before the owner failed to submit the entry form on time and Archer was not allowed to run. Other notable winners of the Melbourne Cup include Carbine in 1890, Night Watch in 1918, Phar Lap in 1930 and Light Fingers in 1965. Makybe Diva is famous for being the first and only horse to win the Melbourne Cup three years in a row from 2003 to 2005. Read more at source

There are three mares in the Melbourne Cup 2013 field including Dear Demi who is out to become the first of her kind to win the iconic handicap since the mighty Makybe Diva made it a triple in 2005.  Since the Melbourne Cup was inaugurated in 1861 a total of 13 mares have taken it out, most recently Makybe Diva (2003, 2004, 2005) who remains he only triple Melbourne Cup winner in history.   Read more at source

WATCH the Melbourne Cup:
TwinSpires/TV  - Requires registration
HRTV - Available in some areas from cable provider; also, live streaming online w/paid subscription
Racing Network Australia - Live and replays

Handicapping Videos
Melbourne Cup Preview Show - Part 1
Melbourne Cup Preview Show - Part 2

Monday evening, Flemington, Australia, post time: 11:00 p.m. EDT

EMIRATES MELBOURNE CUP-G1, A$6,000,000, 3yo/up, 3200mT, R7
Field - Melbourne Cup Race 7

Full fields for all races Melbourne Cup Day
Field and Barrier draw - Melbourne Cup

THE HORSES Rating the runners - Horse by horse analysis
Dandino improves into Melbourne Cup

Can Dandino repeat Makybe Diva path from Caulfield Second to win the Cup
Dance is hopeful that Dandino can become the first horse since champion mare Makybe Diva in 2004 to win the Melbourne Cup after finishing second two and a half weeks earlier in the Caulfield Cup.


Japan fall racing QEII Cup, Japan Cup, Japan Dirt, Mile Championship

Hong Kong fall racing
11/17/2013 Jockey Club Sprint G2 1200
11/17/2013 Jockey Club Mile G2 1600
11/17/2013 LONGINES Jockey Club Cup G2 2000
12/8/2013 LONGINES Hong Kong Cup G1 2000
12/8/2013 LONGINES Hong Kong Mile G1 1600
12/8/2013 LONGINES Hong Kong Sprint G1 1200
12/8/2013 LONGINES Hong Kong Vase G1 2400 


No comments: